Travel Anxiety

I occasionally suffer from anxiety when traveling✈. I suppose this is normal but I really can’t be bothered to make plans, under the guise of preferring spontaneity and traveling on a whim, when in reality I get anxious.

Right now I’m couchsurfing in Budapest, which is lovely. Sunny and inexpensive, who can complain? I have been here for six days and have three more nights until I am back in Tel Aviv for gay pride. I told my host I’d say for four nights, but in reality I stayed for six nights. And it has been a bit awkward. They told me I could stay the whole trip but I don’t feel comfortable taking them up on that offer especially because we are all so introverted.

So last night I booked three night in a hostel that is literally two doors away from the place I was crashing in. Cost me $35 for the duration of my stay. What a steal!

But the anxiety is kicking in. I am nervous about this hostel.  It is an 8 bed room dormitory…. and I will be constantly surrounded by people, unlike my couchsurfing experience here. I had my own room and access to a lot of space while on my own. It’s completely irrational for me to be so nervous.  I have already worked at two different hostels, both half way across the world from each other. But my anxiety is being triggered. I spent an extra three hours in bed, generously provided by my couchsurfing host, watching Once Upon a Time and refusing to get up.

But I have to get going, my host facebook messaged me but I’m pretending to still be asleep to buy time. What’s wrong with me?
I am a bit of a nut.
But I am (usually) okay with that.

Leave a comment